Go Back   Rock3 Rock News & Music Reviews > Content > Rock Music News


Rock Music News Rock music news from the world of Rock where you can find the latest news and discussions. (Moderated)

LinkBack Story Tools Search this Story Display Modes
Soundgarden Album TELEPHANTASM Release New Video For Black Rain
Published by Rock3
More on This Artist
All news on
Buy the Album or MP3's
Music Reviews
Soundgarden Album TELEPHANTASM Release New Video For Black Rain

Recently reunited Soundgarden will release their first collection of music since 1996..

.. in the form of Telephantasm on September 28th in the US and September 27th internationally. This multi-label, career-spanning retrospective album includes beloved band hits, deep back catalogue cuts and a never-before-heard unreleased track entitled “Black Rain,” taken from the Badmotorfinger recording sessions. Telephantasm marks the first time ever a collection of its kind has been collated in one place.

Like the iconic ‘60s and ‘70s bands which inspired them, Soundgarden redefined rock music for a whole generation and had a revolutionary impact on the course of musical history. As one of the first bands to release music on the venerated Sub Pop label, and the first band to come out of the 90’s Seattle music scene to later sign to a major label, they are once again making history with Telephantasm. The band has announced that they will be partnering with innovative gaming publisher Activision Publishing, Inc. to release the album on September 27th / 28th via A&M/Universal Music Group inside 1 million copies of the new videogame Guitar Hero®: Warriors of Rock. This release marks the first time a music album will be simultaneously released and bundled with a video game launch. All North American Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock launch units will contain the 12-song retrospective disc and will be exclusive to Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock for one week (until October 5). Additionally, fans will get full access to the band’s new album as downloadable content for Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock day and date with the launch of the game.

“We are thrilled about the exclusive and trailblazing partnership between Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock and Soundgarden,” said David Haddad, Chief Operating Officer, Guitar Hero. “The fact that this seminal band chose Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock as the way to reintroduce themselves speaks volumes about Guitar Hero’s ability to deliver music, in an exciting, interactive way, to millions of music fans and gamers. The extensive collaboration – bundling Telephantasm with Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock, including the unreleased “Black Rain” as an exclusive in the game and releasing the entire album as downloadable content – demonstrates Soundgarden’s and Guitar Hero’s commitment to delivering a great experience for its fans.”

Additionally, on September 27th / 28th A&M/Universal Music Group will be releasing 3 expanded versions of Telephantasm which will include a double-disc with 12 additional tracks, 5 of which are previously unreleased, and Soundgarden’s first-ever DVD, featuring 20 videos, 13 of which have never been released, a Deluxe 3-LP Vinyl Edition and an individually numbered Super Deluxe Collector’s Edition. The Super Deluxe Collector’s Edition will be available for a limited time and will include 2 CDs, the limited edition DVD, three heavy vinyl discs, a collectible poster, lithos, and much more. These 3 expanded versions will be available at all music retail outlets and on the band’s website.

On April 16th 2010, Chris Cornell, Kim Thayil, Ben Shepherd and Matt Cameron of Soundgarden took to the stage together for the first time in 12 years at the Showbox Theater in Seattle. Playing songs from their celebrated and acclaimed catalogue, the result was nothing short of brilliant and saw the four band members playing with the same heart and vigor for which they have always been known. On August 8th, Soundgarden will hit the stage again, headlining Lollapalooza in Chicago’s Grant Park, preceded by a sold-out show at the Vic Theatre on August 5th.

Watch this space for additional news on Soundgarden. Soundgarden World

Telephantasm release information and tracklistings in full:

Songs are taken from the following Soundgarden albums: Deep Six EP, Screaming Life EP, Fopp EP, Ultramega OK, Louder Than Love, Badmotorfinger, Superunknown, Down on the Upside

Telephantasm (Single CD):

1. Hunted Down

2. Hands All Over

3. Outshined

4. Rusty Cage

5. Birth Ritual

6. Black Hole Sun

7. Spoonman

8. My Wave

9. Fell On Black Days

10. Burden In My Hand

11. Blow Up The Outside World

12. Black Rain (Previously Unreleased)

Telephantasm (2CD/Limited Edition DVD)

*Previously Unreleased on CD

CD - Disc One

1. All Your Lies

2. Hunted Down

3. Fopp

4. Beyond The Wheel

5. Flower (BBC Session)*

6. Hands All Over

7. Big Dumb Sex

8. Get On The Snake (Live)

9. Room A Thousand Years Wide (Single Version)*

10. Rusty Cage

11. Outshined

12. Slaves & Bulldozers

CD - Disc Two

1. Jesus Christ Pose (Live)

2. Birth Ritual

3. My Wave

4. Superunknown

5. Spoonman

6. Black Hole Sun

7. Fell On Black Days (Video Version)

8. Burden In My Hand

9. Dusty

10. Pretty Noose (Live on SNL)*

11. Blow Up The Outside World (MTV Live ‘N’ Loud)*

12. Black Rain*


-All Videos Previously Unreleased Except ^

1. Flower

2. Hands All Over^

3. Loud Love^

4. Jesus Christ Pose- (Original Version)

5. Outshined

6. Rusty Cage

7. My Wave^

8. Spoonman

9. The Day I Tried To Live (Uncensored)^

10. Black Hole Sun^

11. Fell On Black Days^

12. Pretty Noose (Uncensored)

13. Burden In My Hand

14. Blow Up The Outside World (Uncensored)


1. Spoonman (Mash-up Version)

2. The Day I Tried To Live (European Version)

3. Superunknown^

4. Pretty Noose (International Version)

5. Pretty Noose (Alternate Ending)

6. Blow Up The Outside World (Censored)


2 CDs + Ltd Ed DVD + 3 heavy vinyl discs plus more in deluxe packaging
Published by
Rock3's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,347
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!


album, news, release, soundgarden, telephantism, video

Story Tools Search this Story
Search this Story:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
Style Provided By: Wrestling Clique - Wrestling Forums
copyright Rock3
Story powered by GARS 2.1.9 ©2005-2006