Go Back   Rock3 Rock News & Music Reviews > Content > Rock Music Reviews

Notices

Rock Music Reviews Music Reviews for Live shows as well as single, album, DVD and download release's

Comment
 
LinkBack (11) Review Tools Search this Review Display Modes
 
<!-- google_ad_section_start -->Cerys Matthews Live at The Wulfrun Hall Wolverhampton<!-- google_ad_section_end -->
Cerys Matthews Live at The Wulfrun Hall Wolverhampton
Cerys Matthews – Support to Paul Heaton - the Wulfrun Wolverhampton 06/11/2008
Published by Rock3
11-11-2008
Author review
Graphics
100%100%100%
5
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Value
100%100%100%
5
Average 100%

More on This Artist
Buy the Album or MP3's
Music Reviews

5 most read reviews
Cerys Matthews Live at The Wulfrun Hall Wolverhampton

Cerys Matthews has certainly been busy this year! From intimate sets at the Glee Club in Birmingham to touring on the festival circuit including Brecon Jazz Festival, Glastonbury and The National Eisteddfod- now she’s on the road yet again! This time she’s travelling around the UK as a support act to Paul Heaton, of previous House Martins and Beautiful South Fame. I had the very fortunate chance of catching her at the Wulfrun in Wolverhampton on 6th November 2008.


click the image for more pictures



The Wulfrun, a cavern-like, gymnasium-style venue with dark walls, red lighting and stark metal barriers that segregate the crowd from the stage, was empty as I quickly made my way to the front for the best view in the house of this all standing venue with capacity for just over 1,100 people. It never got more than ¾ full all night, and even though the 40+ crowd was full of ardent Paul Heaton fans, they remained respectful and appreciative of Cerys Matthews’ obvious talent that has gained her every right to gain critical acclaim as a soloist. It’s about time that reviewers rid her of the shackles of previous Catatonia and I’m a Celebrity get Me Out of Here! fame and let her stand as an artist in her own right. Can you tell I’m a huge fan?!

Cerys Matthews sprung on stage after a surprise short set from Attic Lights, a promising Glaswegian band who kept the crowd entertained with their Beach Boys influenced guitar pop songs like Walkie Talkie, Bring You Down and their new release Wendy (from their debut album Friday Night Lights). Cerys looked resplendent, as always, in a simple black jeans and blouse outfit as she and Nicolai, a new and definitely talented Danish band member playing guitar and steel lap guitar, kicked off a totally stripped down 9 song acoustic set that was obviously picked and manipulated to appeal to the older clientele that filled the Wulfrun tonight.

She showcased the powerfulness and prowess of her voice whilst belting out the vocals to well known Chardonnay, Galway Shores / Strange Glue from the Catatonia era, and yet to be released Arlington Way. These were cleverly interspersed with songs that highlighted the soft, mesmerising qualities of her voice such as Weightless Again from her ****ahoop album, new Fire (which is known to her fans as the Spider & the Fly) and a surprise cover of the Elvis hit Love Me Tender. Top it all off, with some surprise guests and the bravery to sing a completely new song, the set finished with big band Smash the Glass, which delighted Cerys Matthews’ fans, Cerys herself and even Paul Heaton fans!

Cerys Matthews didn’t disappoint in the entertainment value stakes either. Known for her inter-song babble, tonight was no different, especially after having drunk a cup of coffee right before going on stage! Her obvious addiction to Wikipedia became apparent when she spouted off several facts about Wolverhampton and made a tenuous link to Nicolai and the fact that Wolverhampton was apparently named after a Danish man! One memorable saying that I took from the set was in reference to Weightless Again, which was written during her time in Tennessee where she had lots of time on her hands as she “sat around watching her babies play, eat and poo whilst listening to loads of music”! Even the fact that she broke the mike before singing her last song and her trademark groovy dancing was totally endearing!

If you were a die hard enough fan you would have caught up with Cerys leaving Wulfrun Hall, only too happy to sign autographs and chat to fans before heading into Wolverhampton for a well earned curry. You would also have heard that her new album is finished and hopefully ready for release early next year. Whether that’s another Welsh EP like Awyreyn = Aeroplane, or a cracking follow up to the amazing albums ****ahoop and Never Said Goodbye, its yet to be seen. You’ll just have to be patient and wait to see what 2009 holds in store! Rumours abound that Cerys Matthews will be undertaking a big band solo tour in the Spring of 2009 to promote her new album. Whether you’ve been a fan of Cerys Matthews forever and a day, or you heard her tonight at the Wulfrun for the first time, this is one tour you can’t afford to miss! I know that I for one will be at the front of the queue for tickets!


Review Tricia Williams
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  11 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
By Helen on 14-11-2008
Member reviews
Graphics
60%60%60%
3
Sound
20%20%20%
1
Replay value
20%20%20%
1
Value
20%20%20%
1
Average 30%
Smile

Read review and I felt had to post my comments. I was never a Cerys Matthews fan, preferring rock music, but my 13 year old son has quite a crush. Having seen her on I'm a Celebrity, he now has all the albums. We were persuaded to take him to see Cerys at the Wulfrun Hall and I must say I was most impressed. She has a very clear sweet voice which rang out across the hall. I'm now quite a convert. Looking forward to the next concert in 2009!!!! Attic Lights & Paul Heaton were fab too, although as Paul pointed out, we were some of the few at the front who didn't have the album and weren't singing along - despite this, we still enjoyed the show. A thoroughly enjoyable night. +++++
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
By rosalie on 10-04-2009
Member reviews
Graphics
20%20%20%
1
Sound
20%20%20%
1
Replay value
20%20%20%
1
Value
100%100%100%
5
Average 40%
I love her accent when she sings, she has got a great range. Nice photos and review. cerys has some new songs on her myspace that really show off her welsh folk song writing
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
By Rock3 on 25-08-2010
Another great review and some brill photos of Cerys can be found here
Cerys Matthews Live At Castell Rock 30th May

and of course here as well

Cerys Matthews Live @ Brecon Jazz Festival 2008
Last edited by Rock3; 25-08-2010 at 11:40 PM..
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Comment

Bookmarks

Tags
cerys matthews, gig, live, music, photo, photos, review, show

Review Tools Search this Review
Search this Review:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rock3music.com/rock-music-reviews/6123-cerys-matthews-live-wulfrun-hall-wolverhampton.html
Posted By For Type Date
Cerys Matthews • View topic - Post your favourite Cerys pic here This thread Refback 09-12-2011 12:04 AM
Cerys Matthews This thread Refback 20-01-2009 11:55 AM
Cerys Matthews • View topic - Post your favourite Cerys pic here This thread Refback 15-01-2009 12:34 AM
Cerys Matthews • View topic - Post your favourite Cerys pic here This thread Refback 14-01-2009 11:43 PM
Cerys Matthews • View topic - Post your favourite Cerys pic here This thread Refback 14-01-2009 10:12 PM
Cerys Matthews • View topic - Post your favourite Cerys pic here This thread Refback 14-01-2009 10:06 PM
Cerys Matthews • View topic - Paul Heaton Tour This thread Refback 12-11-2008 04:18 PM
Cerys Matthews • View topic - Paul Heaton Tour This thread Refback 12-11-2008 12:37 PM
Cerys Matthews • View topic - Paul Heaton Tour This thread Refback 12-11-2008 11:17 AM
Cerys Matthews • View topic - Paul Heaton Tour This thread Refback 12-11-2008 09:23 AM
Cerys Matthews • View topic - Paul Heaton Tour This thread Refback 12-11-2008 09:06 AM



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
Style Provided By: Wrestling Clique - Wrestling Forums
copyright Rock3
Review powered by GARS 2.1.9 ©2005-2006