Go Back   Rock3 Rock News & Music Reviews > Content > Rock Music Reviews

Notices

Rock Music Reviews Music Reviews for Live shows as well as single, album, DVD and download release's

Comment
 
LinkBack (5) Review Tools Display Modes
 
<!-- google_ad_section_start -->Bon Jovi Live @ Ricoh Arena Coventry England 24th June 2008<!-- google_ad_section_end -->
Bon Jovi Live @ Ricoh Arena Coventry England 24th June 2008
Published by Rock3
26-06-2008
Author review
Graphics
100%100%100%
5
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Value
100%100%100%
5
Average 100%

More on This Artist
Buy the Album or MP3's
Music Reviews

5 most read reviews
Bon Jovi Live @ Ricoh Arena Coventry England 24th June 2008

To coin an old phrase, supergroups are like buses, you wait for ages then 2 come at once, after “Def Leppard” last week along comes the peter pan of rock, no, not “sir cliff” but the cowboy and outlaw “Jon Bon Jovi” who rides into the Coventry Ricoh Arena, “Bon Jovi are back after their last appearance at the Ricoh 2 years ago with a new album and headline tour.

Even with the hefty ticket price “Bon Jovi “ still manage to attract a 35,000 sell out crowd , after being warmed up by “the feeling”, ( strange addition to the bill ?) the now deafening crowd await the band, with the appearance of Jon & co the place goes absolutely nuts , they are straight in with “lost highway” & then “born to be my baby” with Jon whipping the crowd into a frenzy , the Ricoh is by now rocking , the back catalogue of bon jovi is impressive to say the least so its no wonder they unload big hits early on and at will, “you give love a bad name” “runaway”, my personal favourite “sleep when im dead” with the inclusion of “the Beatles” hits “twist and shout” and “back in the USSR”, it’s a very nice touch ,its good to see a set list that’s not just going through the motions , the sound quality seems to almost come and go, although Jon’s voice still comes over as sharp as ever, the band are tight.


click image for more photos


Ritchie Samboras guitar solos tease the crowd , Tico sitting high behind his kit looking as cool as always , David Bryan, yes that’s his name, on keyboards, its all so familiar. As was Def Leppard it’s almost too perfect, the stage is as always at a Bon Jovis gig, huge. the hits keep rolling “its my life” “keep the faith” “bad medicine”, you forget how many hits they have had, “always” “these days” “wanted dead or alive” bring to an end of what can only be described as a masterful performance, it’s a tuff call already this year on who’s going to win best live supergroup award , however im sure the massive cov crowd will agree, who ever it shall be will have to go some to beat tonight’s show.


click image for more photos


Myspace page

James Hope
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  5 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
By Brenda on 29-06-2008
Member reviews
Graphics
20%20%20%
1
Sound
20%20%20%
1
Replay value
20%20%20%
1
Value
20%20%20%
1
Average 20%
Thumbs up Bon Jovi 2008

Went to Southampton Concert. Am in the fan club so got quite near the front. BJ were great as always but we had not support - only a local DJ and a local band - not good considering the inflated ticket prices t his year.
HOWEVER, also went to Coventry and my faith is completely restored. Although the organisation was less than great once the show started there was no looking back.
The first band were a local - forgive me, I can't remember their name, but they were very good and the lead singer looked good! Then we had 'The Feeling' mmm, perhaps not what you would expect to support a band like Bon Jovi but they were ok and put on a reasonable show.
Then the boys came on - what can I say? When Jon Bon Jovi is on form he is REALLY GOOD. It was one of the best BJ concerts in a long time. Didn't notice problems with the sound (we were very near the front as we're in the fan club) except when Jon missed a line in one of the songs and said something about the sound - that was the only time - the rest of the concert was better than normal - or am I just too biased? Oh well, maybe I am but I don't care - I can't wait til the next tour. Jon was on form, and it was a fantastic night. This has to be the best concert of the year.
Yeah, I know, everyone is thinking that I wouldn't say a word against them, but believe me I would and I did until Coventry and now my faith is totally restored!!
Come back soon.
Always Keeping the Faith!
Brenda.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
By crimson on 05-07-2008
I'm not a huge Bon Jovi fan but they're one of the biggest bands in the world and you have to give them credit for that
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
By Allweiss on 14-08-2009
I love Bon Jovi's music, saw them about 5 years ago and have bought most of their albums, the photos and review are good, I really like this band can you put up any videos from the band
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
By beekmom on 15-08-2009
Ritchie and Jon still look as young as when i first saw them live 15 years ago, should go to see them next time they are in my home town
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
By Rock3 on 27-08-2010
Bon Jovi video playlist

Bon Jovi Video playlist


Rock3

Which is your favourite Bon Jovi song ?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
By Rock3 on 28-08-2010
Bon Jovi interviews

Bon Jovi and video interviews during 2010

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Comment

Bookmarks

Tags
bon jovi, live, live review, music, photos, rock, show

Review Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rock3music.com/rock-music-reviews/4812-bon-jovi-live-ricoh-arena-coventry-england-24th-june-2008-a.html
Posted By For Type Date
Rock News | Rock3 Rock Radio Network This thread Refback 10-07-2009 02:33 PM
BON JOVI LIVE PHOTOGRAPHS AND REVIEW FROM THE UK | Heavy Metal News This thread Refback 30-06-2008 11:27 AM
LIVE SHOW PHOTOGRAPHS OF BON JOVI AT THE RICOH ARENA | Rock3 Rock Radio Network This thread Refback 30-06-2008 09:49 AM
BON JOVI TOUR PLUS REVIEWS AND PHOTOGRAPHS | Rock Music News From RockFeeder This thread Refback 29-06-2008 08:37 AM
Jon Bon Jovi: Jon Bon Jovi Photos, Jon Bon Jovi News, Jon Bon Jovi Pictures, Jon Bon Jovi Pics, Jon Bon Jovi Videos, Jon Bon Jovi Links, Jon Bon Jovi Gossip This thread Refback 27-06-2008 03:28 PM



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
Style Provided By: Wrestling Clique - Wrestling Forums
copyright Rock3
Review powered by GARS 2.1.9 ©2005-2006