Go Back   Rock3 Rock News & Music Reviews > Content > Rock Music Reviews

Notices

Rock Music Reviews Music Reviews for Live shows as well as single, album, DVD and download release's

Comment
 
LinkBack (6) Review Tools Display Modes
 
<!-- google_ad_section_start -->Feeder Live @ Birmingham Barfly 25-5-2008<!-- google_ad_section_end -->
Feeder Live @ Birmingham Barfly 25-5-2008
Published by Rock3
03-06-2008
Author review
Graphics
100%100%100%
5
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Value
100%100%100%
5
Average 100%

More on This Artist
Buy the Album or MP3's
Music Reviews

5 most read reviews
Feeder Live @ Birmingham Barfly 25-5-2008

Feeders eagerly anticipated 6th studio album ‘Silent Cry’ graces our presence on the 16th June, with the first single ‘We are the people’ due out a week before. To celebrate this fact the band announced an 8 date whirlwind tour of intimate venues throughout the UK to show off it’s wares to devout followers of the band.

So far Feeder have taken in Newcastle, Glasgow, Sheffield, Birmingham, Brighton, Cardiff, and Manchester. The last date on the tour is Saturday 31st@ The Thekla, Bristol.
Support slots for the tour were given to local bands who entered the ‘Feeder support band’ competition through Feederweb the bands official website. The last time I saw Feeder play live was 2006 after the release of their singles collection at the NEC, capacity for that show was an audience of 12,000 fans!, prior to that I saw them at the Birmingham Academy, again headlining but on a comparatively lesser scale.

I am a big fan of Feeder’s having seen them on many occasions, even supporting the Stereophonics at the Millennium Stadium, which seems like eons ago. I never tire of Mr Nichols voice or the fact that the lyrics have been mulled over and well thought out. So when this date was announced I was like a bull at a gate and scrambled for tickets. It s a very rare occurrence indeed to see such a band of this scale playing such an intimate venue as the Barfly in Brum. Even much so one single ticket for the gig was selling on Ebay for £52.00!!

I got to the venue and I was astounded as I have never seen so many people crammed in to one venue in my life. It was wall-wall full of people, you could feel the heat hit you in the face as you walked down the stairs and the constant rambling’s of people and the unnecessary hum created by all the chatter.

A trip to the bar was like a challenge on Gladiators, I was half expecting Shadow or Wolf to jump out on me with a pugil stick and beat me about the head, but luckily after a 15 min wait I was rescued by some kind soul who took my order and quenched my thirst, thank you kind sir!! .. One challenge over, then a trek to stage front to see if I could at least get a glimpse of Feeder when they graced the stage. Prime position was stage right, so I could at least see the band and didn’t have anyone 7ft tall in front of me.

Support for the Birmingham show was Frances Lobo a female vocalist with fiery red hair. Her voice was totally amazing, I likened her to Amy Winehouse, the vocals of each song just seemed effortless. Pure class!!. Only a short set of five songs which was slightly disappointing to say the least, but I’m sure we haven’t seen the last of her.


click the image to see Feeder Photos


Feeder came on stage at 9pm to the loudest cheer I’ve ever heard in my life. The crowd was made up of 20 and 30 something’s, with a few teens thrown in for good measure, it made for such an enthusiastic night, I have never seen so many fans mouth the lyrics to so many songs. I even joined in for good measure!

The Set list consisted of:
Feeling a moment
Shatter
We are the people
Miss you
Come Back Around
Itsumo
Tracing Lines
Guided by a Voice
Just the Way I’m Feeling
Pushing the Senses
Sonorous
My Perfect Day
Fires
Yesterday went too Soon
Lost and Found
High
Just a Day

Quite a lot of new material made it to the set list which made me sit up and listen, every note was a blessing to my ear, especially Itsumo which struck a mental chord with me.
Old favorites like ‘High’ and the Feeder anthem ‘Just a Day' whipped the crowd up into such a frenzy, lots of figure pointing, arm waving and crowd surfing which is the norm at any Feeder gig.

Between songs Nicholas bantered about the new album and possible new tour in October and how cool it was to play such intimate venues and be so close to the fans. Much to his dismay he was heckled by the crowd with chants of ‘Feeder, Feeder’ and ‘I love you Grant’ to which he did chuckle at.
The set was 90 mins long, full of vitality and passion and over too quickly for my liking.

The new material suggests that Feeder have gone back to their roots with heavy guitars and shows that they are constantly evolving as a band reflecting passing time while never forgetting exactly what first inspired them to come together all those years ago.

The new album will definitely be worth its weight in gold for sure.

Myspace page

Michelle Owen
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  6 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
By robbie on 08-07-2008
Member reviews
Graphics
100%100%100%
5
Sound
100%100%100%
5
Replay value
100%100%100%
5
Value
100%100%100%
5
Average 100%
Great review and photos again, is this new staff? excellent work!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
By mike18 on 08-07-2008
Yeah photos are awesome, so are feeder...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
By Rock3 on 22-08-2010
More Feeder Live photos and reviews
Feeder - Live at the GL1 Gloucester 29th November 2008
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Comment

Bookmarks

Tags
feeder rock band live, live, music, photo, photos, review, show

Review Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rock3music.com/rock-music-reviews/4473-feeder-live-birmingham-barfly-25-5-2008-a.html
Posted By For Type Date
Feeder Rock - Email, Address, Phone numbers, everything! 123people.com This thread Refback 27-01-2011 07:16 PM
FEEDER NEW ALBUM ?SILENT CRY? AND SHOW REVIEW | Rock3 TV This thread Refback 25-10-2010 09:31 PM
RE: Feeder This thread Refback 24-08-2008 12:49 AM
FEEDER NEW ALBUM 'SILENT CRY' AND SHOW REVIEW | Rock3 Rock Radio Network This thread Refback 08-06-2008 04:38 PM
» Feeder Live @ Birmingham Barfly 25-5-2008 A Teens: What The World Is Saying About A Teens This thread Pingback 07-06-2008 07:57 AM
FEEDER CAUGHT LIVE ON STAGE | Rock Music News From RockFeeder This thread Refback 05-06-2008 09:49 AM



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
Style Provided By: Wrestling Clique - Wrestling Forums
copyright Rock3
Review powered by GARS 2.1.9 ©2005-2006